Helps for Busy Times

I have been very busy lately and have often felt overwhelmed.  The following verses are ones that have been a help to me.  I pray that you might find help and encouragement in them as well.

Do not be grieved, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.
Nehemiah 8:10b

This joy of the Lord is ours when we focus on serving others, not ourselves.  I have found this verse to be true when I change my thoughts and attitude.  I will admit that when my husband first encouraged me to remember this verse I doubted that joy could work.  Then I realized that it is more than just smiling all day, but it is having a different focus.  Since this joy depends on God, there is strength.

 But as for you, brethren, do not grow weary of doing good.
2 Thessalonians 3:13
Let us not lose heart in doing good,
for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary.

Galatians 6:9

Being busy will naturally make us tired.  The weariness referred to in these verses is probably referring to frustrations over expectations not met, interactions with other people that cause frictions and concerns, the burdens of responsibility that weigh heavily.  If we are doing God’s will, we can expect that there is a wonderful result.  As we work, we need to keep our focus on the end result and keep faithfully working towards it.  The end result for us should be bringing glory to God and seeing His plan fulfilled.  We each have our piece of that plan to perform, so let us not stop doing what we know God wants us to do.  There is an eternal reward.

Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden,
and I will give you rest.
Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me,
for I am gentle and humble in heart,
and you will find rest for your souls.
For My yoke is easy and My burden is light
Matthew 11:28-30

Rest is something you long for when you are busy.  The rest that Jesus is talking about here is not so much physical rest, but a spiritual rest.  Our tired bodies drag us down and cause us to get discouraged, but this rest is actually better for us.  It is the rest of learning to let God take care of things.  Letting Him carry our burdens.  Depending on Him to help us.  I wrote a quotation from Mood Tides by Ronald Horton in my Bible:  “Without His pulling, we could not pull, without our pulling, he would not pull – in matters, that is, whose success He ordains to depend upon our participation.”  When we are willing to depend on Him, He will unreservedly help.

And my God will supply all your needs
according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:19

God will supply not just money and things.  He will also give strength, wisdom, courage, and whatever we need to help us do what needs to be done during our busy times or any time.

This entry was posted in Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts, Serving God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Helps for Busy Times

  1. Jules says:

    Thank you. It seems that at this time of year, we all long for that rest.

Leave a Reply

