“How” to Pray

Encouraging Words for 7 February 2011

My second daughter has been posting selections from Andrew Murray’s The
Ministry of Intercession on her blog. What I have appreciated about
these selections is that Mr. Murray set them up with a “What” to pray
for and a “how” to pray.

We usually know “what” to pray for. We generally have a long list of
things to pray about. If we are honest, though, many of our requests are
quite selfish. Consider some of the “what” to pray for that Mr. Murray
discussed: the power of the Holy Spirit to work in the lives of God’s
people, holiness to rule in the lives of believers, believers to not be
of the world, and the love of God to be evident in believers lives.
Maybe we do need to consider the things that we pray for so that we are
truly focused on what is of eternal value.

We rarely think about “how” to pray. Mr. Murray discussed this in
relation to the attitude of the heart. We might remember to pray in
faith, but do we think about praying in quietness or with an attitude of
waiting?

The “how” of these selections caught my attention because I know how I
have prayed sometimes – complaining, feeling sorry for myself, politely
trying to tell God that He wasn’t right. I seriously doubt that God
could answer those prayers. Although I believed that God could answer
prayer, “how” I prayed did not demonstrate that.

It would be good for us to examine “what” we pray for and to eliminate
the selfishness. It would also be good to consider “how” we pray –
simply, in love, in quiet confidence, continuing in prayer.

I sought Your favor with all my heart;
Be gracious to me according to Your word.
I considered my ways
And turned my feet to Your testimonies.
Psalm 119:58-59

I pray that we can make God and His glory the focus of our prayers. God
is the Mighty Sovereign. Let us approach Him in humble faith that He
will lovingly keep His promises.

Love, Sister Sharlene

1 Thessalonians 2:8
Having so fond an affection for you, [I am] well-pleased to impart to
you not only the gospel of God but also [my] own [life], because you
[have] become very dear to [me].

NASB personalized by Sharlene

If you want to read the selections from Murray’s book, go to
http://encyclopediaofastudent.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “How” to Pray

  1. Jules says:

    I’ve read one of Andrew Murray’s books on prayer and found it very encouraging as well as challenging. This post was lovely as well as thought-provoking. Blessings, Jules

Leave a Reply

