Family

The past days I have been watching in horror the situation in Japan.  I was immediately concerned, because I know people in Japan.  I know people who used to live in Japan who would be concerned about people they know.   I have noticed that when there is a disaster in the world I usually know someone in that area or near to it.  The reason I know these people is because of one of the great blessings of being a Christian – a large family.  The family of God.

We did not choose the family we were born into, neither do we choose who is in our spiritual family.  This family includes people on the other side of the world as well as those near by.  Our family needs to be important to us.   We may not be able to do more than pray for  Christians on the other side of the world – which is a very valuable thing to do.  We can help those near by.

I’ll close with a few verses that we can think about to help us in our relationship with our family.

The glory which You have given Me I have given to them,
that they may be one, just as We are one; I in them and You in Me,
that they may be perfected in unity, so that the world may know that You sent Me, and loved them, even as You have loved Me.

John 17:22-23

This is My commandment, that you love one another,
just as I have loved you.
John 15:12

But if you show partiality, you are committing sin
and are convicted by the law as transgressors.
For whoever keeps the whole law and yet stumbles in one point,
he has become guilty of all.

James 2:9-10

Love, Sharlene

This entry was posted in Christian living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

