God’s View

I thought that I would share two quotes from Dr. Jim Berg’s book Essential Virtues.  I found this book to be very helpful in understanding God’s view of Christian living.  It is very important that we look at our lives and what we do through God’s eyes.

Christian liberty, as Paul taught it, does not give believers freedom to do anything they want as long as it is not forbidden in Scripture.  It gives them the freedom to reject anything that does not advance Christ and His ways even if it is not forbidden in Scripture.

and

It is not the absence of limitation in demands that builds character; it is the exercise of self-restraint in the presence of limitation and demands that builds character.

A last quotation from Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest.

Satan does not tempt us to do wrong things; he tempts us in order to make us lose what God has put into us by regeneration, viz., the possibility of being of value to God.  He does not come on the line of tempting us to sin, but on the line of shifting the point of view, and only the Spirit of God can detect this as a temptation of the devil.

My encouraging word is to look to the Spirit ask Him to show you any shift in your view point from God’s.

 

”"

This entry was posted in Christian living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s View

  1. So glad you’re still sharing with The Week in Words. I love reading quotes. My oldest sister has a WEALTH of quotes that she’s collected through the years, but she doesn’t blog. She would absolutely love this meme.

    I particularly like the Oswald Chambers quote. Thinking about how Satan tempts us to devalue ourselves and our use to the Lord—such a deceptive way to get us to sin. Thanks for your encouragement to seek God’s viewpoint!

  2. Barbara H. says:

    I haven’t seen that book of Berg’s. I’ve really enjoyed a couple of his others: I need to check that one out, too.

    I so much agree with the first two. In much of what Paul has to say about liberty, it’s in exercising restraint or the gospel’s sake.

    I’ll have to think about that third one a bit more — I am not sure I agree with the first sentence. But I do agree we can all too easily be tempted to a wrong shift in viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

