Thankful

For days, I have been thinking about writing a Thanksgiving Day post.  So before this Thanksgiving Day comes to a close, I had better write it.

I am thankful for my salvation.  I am teaching the doctrine of salvation in school, and I have been even more impressed with the fact that I can be saved.  God has offered a precious gift that is available to all who accept the payment that Jesus made for our sin when He died on the cross.

I am thankful for my husband whose godly focus impressed from the beginning.  I have learned much from him.  I love that the children go to him for advice and counsel.  Twenty-five years married to the same man – I couldn’t ask for better.

I am thankful for my 10 children.  Ten seems such a large number, but when they are all here it is a perfect number. I asked for 5; God gave me 10.  Either He can’t count or it is a double blessing – I think it is the latter.

I am thankful for all that these children do.  I really do very little cooking or cleaning.  They do it and usually like doing it.  I cannot take all of the credit for training them this way, either – another blessing.

I’m thankful for Roxanne who is that other blessing above.  I know that I would have lost my sanity if it hadn’t been for her.  Knowing her and watching her grow spiritually helped me to see God in a more real way.  Her influence on my children has been a blessing as well.

I am thankful to live in Carriacou.  Right now the island is green and flowering.  It is so beautiful, especially since a few years ago we had a very long dry season.  Carriacou is wonderful, not only because it has what must be a nearly perfect climate (just ignore the storms and hurricanes), but also because of the people.  It has been a blessing to get to know the people here and to build friendships.  The past few months have been especially blessed in that way.

I am thankful that the Lord has helped to start our Christian school.  The process of establishing it has taken years and taught me many things spiritually and educationally.  To have this ministry and to help train teachers and students has been a blessing.

I need to grade papers, so I must bring this to a close even though there are many more things I could mention like: my parents and my godly heritage, my in-laws who have shown me much about godly living, my co-workers American and West Indian, my “girls” who are scattered around the world, ice tea, Cadbury chocolate and Grenadian chocolate, and Internet and cardboard.  I’ll end with my microwave oven.  I am very thankful for it.  It is big; it can cook a large turkey.  We got it as a wedding gift.  It has been moved 6 times.  It has to work on 50 cycles and sometimes low voltage, but it is still working.  I thank the Lord for it nearly every time I use it.

The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“Therefore I have hope in Him.”
Lamentations 3:22-24

 

This entry was posted in Christian living, praise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

