Word for the Year

Love

I have been thinking about this word lately.  It is a word that is used in many ways, but I wonder how many of those ways really are true to the definition.  I might say, “I love chocolate” and” I love my husband.”  The word love cannot mean the same thing in those two thoughts.  Either I am too attached to chocolate or I have a low regard for my husband.  Love is a word that needs to be considered seriously.  The reason I am considering this word is because of a verse that keeps coming to my mind.

For the love of Christ controls us
2 Corinthians 5:14a

That is a love that is genuine.  Christ’s example is one that I can and should follow so that I can truly really show love.

This word covers every area of my life.

Relationship with God
YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART,
AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND

Matthew 22:37

Wife and mother
to love their husbands, to love their children
Titus 2:4

Relationship with others
YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF
Matthew 22:39

If I follow Christ’s example and love as He loved, then I can be guaranteed success, because . . .

Love never fails
1 Corinthians 13:8a

This entry was posted in Christian living, Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Word for the Year

  1. Pingback: Self-less love or Self-ish love | Encouraging Words

Leave a Reply

