D for Do Not Doubt

I was reading Matthew 21 recently and enjoying Jesus’ talking about having great faith.  As I looked over the verses, this is what I saw.

And Jesus answered and said to them, “Truly I say to you, if you have faith and do not doubt, you will not only do what was done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and cast into the sea,’ it will happen.   And all things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

The words did not turn red on me, but the effect was similar.  I want faith that can remove mountains, but I doubt that God can provide money to pay bills or put food on the table.  I spend time and energy trying to solve my problems.  I pray asking God to help  or to provide, and before the words are out of my mouth, I’m thinking “How can He do that?”

“Do not doubt” – could that be the reason some of my prayers have not been answered?  God can be trusted to fulfil all of His promises.
He does have a disclaimer:  Our requests need to be within His holy will.  If we read His Word, we will not only know what His will is so that we will pray the right prayers, but we will also learn more about God so that we can have greater faith in Him.

And those who know Your name will put their trust in You,
For You, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You.
Psalm 9:10

Trust in the Lord and do good;
Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the Lord;
And He will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him, and He will do it.
Psalm 37:3-5

Whatever you ask in My name, that will I do,
so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
If you ask Me anything in My name, I will do it.
John 14:13-14

If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you,
ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.
John 15:7

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly
beyond all that we ask or think,
according to the power that works within us,
to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus
to all generations forever and ever.
Amen.
Ephesians 3:20-21

This entry was posted in Bible reading, Christian living, prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

