F for Forgetting

I’m not talking about memory loss, senility or even “senior moments.”   I’m talking about a forgetting that we need to do.

Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet;
but one thing I do:
forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead,
I press on toward the goal
for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 3:13-14

I read these verses many times before I realized that God means that I am to forget when He says to forget.  Past sins, past wrongs, past bad attitudes, past angers – forget them.

How in the world can I forget?

First, I need to recognize sin as sin.  Then I can accept that Jesus’ death on the cross is payment for my sin.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us,
in that while we were yet sinners,
Christ died for us.

For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God
through the death of His Son,
much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.

Romans 5:8 and 10

How blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven,
Whose sin is covered!
Psalm 32:1

Although I have accepted Jesus’ death as payment for my sin, I still live on earth and I still struggle with sin.  How can I help my conscience to pray peace to my heart?

If we confess our sins,
He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins
and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
I John 1:9

Now I need to just forget.  The sins have been covered by the blood of Christ.  When my mind wants to think about these things and cause me to be discouraged, I need to forget those things.  I need to turn my mind to Christ.

Therefore if you have been raised up with Christ,
keep seeking the things above,
where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.
Set your mind on the things above,
not on the things that are on earth.
Colossians 3:1-2

This entry was posted in Alphabet posts, Christian living and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

