Ungrateful Heart

 in everything give thanks;
for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
Do not quench the Spirit
Hebrews 13:18-19

It is interesting that the two thoughts – thankfulness and not quenching the Spirit – are next to each other.  That gives the impression that if we are not thankful, then we could keep the Holy Spirit from working in our lives.  I need the Holy Spirit to help me to do what is right and to guide me to stay close to God and to direct me to thinking God’s way.  If being ungrateful will keep Him from working freely in my life, then I want to be more thankful.  If such a simple thing as being thankful will help me to grow closer to God spiritually, then I would be stupid not to be thankful.  Well, it really isn’t a simple thing.  It takes work, and it isn’t that simple.  If you are like me, you find yourself getting frustrated instead of being thankful for what has happened instead of getting upset about what hasn’t happened.

in everything give thanks;
for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

This entry was posted in Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts, Serving God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

