L for LORD

In the Old Testament you see the name LORD in all capital letters. When written this way the name means Jehovah.  This name of God reflects His great power.  In my Bible I mark them with a purple coloured pencil.  I like easily seeing these purple spots in my Bible because they help me remember that God is in control.  I thought I would share some of the verses that I have read the past few days.

The Egyptians shall know that I am the Lord, when I stretch out My hand on Egypt and bring out the sons of Israel from their midst. . . .
 Thus says the Lord, “ By this you shall know that I am the Lord: behold, I will strike the water that is in the Nile with the staff that is in my hand, and it will be turned to blood.
Exodus 7:5 and 17

Then Samuel spoke to all the house of Israel, saying,
“ If you return to the Lord with all your heart,
remove the foreign gods and the Ashtaroth from among you
and direct your hearts to the Lord and serve Him alone”
I Samuel 7:3a

In the Lord I take refuge . . .
The Lord is in His holy temple; the Lord’s throne is in heaven . . .
The Lord tests the righteous and the wicked,
For the Lord is righteous, He loves righteousness;
The upright will behold His face.
Psalm 11:1a, 4a, 5, and 7

The words of the Lord are pure words;
As silver tried in a furnace on the earth, refined seven times.
You, O Lord, will keep them
Psalm 12:6-7a

I will sing to the Lord,
Because He has dealt bountifully with me.
Psalm 13:6

That men may know from the rising to the setting of the sun
That there is no one besides Me.
I am the Lord, and there is no other,
The One forming light and creating darkness,
Causing well-being and creating calamity;
I am the Lord who does all these.
Isaiah 45:6-7

And there is no other God besides Me,
A righteous God and a Savior;
There is none except Me.
Isaiah 45:21b

He is the Almighty God.  It is worthwhile to put your trust in Him, not only for what He can do today, but also for what He will do for all eternity.

This entry was posted in Alphabet posts, Bible reading, Knowing God, praise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

