Quotations

Today I was going through my list of quotations that I use for our school paper.  I was encouraged by reading them, so I thought I would share a few with you.  I add to this list often, so there is no order of topic or theme.  Here is a section from one page.

"Heaven is not here, it’s There. If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next.
God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom, where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for."
Elisabeth Elliot in
Keep a Quiet Heart

"The fine thing is for God so to occupy our thoughts that it is really nothing to us whether others treat us well or ill."
Elisabeth Elliot

"Tight shoes are the greatest blessing in the world. They make you forget all your other troubles."
Anonymous

"The most valuable of all talents is that of never using two words when one will do."
Thomas Jefferson

"Discontent is rooted in unbelief.... We bring God glory when we are content with what He is and does."
Dr. Jim Berg

"The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches, but to reveal to him his own."
Benjamin Disraeli

"Whatever keeps me from my Bible is my enemy, however harmless it may appear to me."
A. W. Tozer

"If you wish to know God, you must know his Word. If you wish to perceive his power, you must see how he works by his Word. If you wish to know his purpose before it comes to pass, you can only discover it by his Word."
Spurgeon

"My rule for Christian living is this: anything that dims my vision of Christ, or takes away my taste for Bible study, or cramps my prayer life, or makes Christian work difficult is wrong for me, and I must, as a Christian, turn away from it."
Dr. Wilbur Chapman

This entry was posted in Encouraging Thoughts, Quotations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

