In the Year that King Uzziah died . . .

In the year of King Uzziah’s death I saw the Lord sitting on a throne,
lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple.

Isaiah 6:1

As Isaiah did here, I tend to keep track of years by births, deaths, and other dramatic experiences.  But do I see God in these experiences?

When my husband fell from his ham radio tower, I discovered Psalm 63.

O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly;
My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You,
In a dry and weary land where there is no water.
Thus I have seen You in the sanctuary,
To see Your power and Your glory.
Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,
My lips will praise You.
So I will bless You as long as I live;
I will lift up my hands in Your name.
My soul is satisfied as with marrow and fatness,
And my mouth offers praises with joyful lips.
When I remember You on my bed,

I meditate on You in the night watches,
For You have been my help,
And in the shadow of Your wings I sing for joy.
My soul clings to You;
Your right hand upholds me.

To be able to see God in these experiences, especially death or other sorrows, you have to cling to every promise of God that you can believe in.  Then ask Him to increase you faith in Him and to believe more of His promises.

He is a loving God. He really does care about us in ways that we cannot completely comprehend.  After you have seen Him, you will be able to serve Him more faithfully.

 Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?”
Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah 6:8

This entry was posted in Encouraging Thoughts, Knowing God, Serving God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

