A Little Song

Today is the birthday of my first-born child.  Becoming a mother for the first time is a scary and exciting event.  I was looking forward to having children, but I was not too sure about having a baby.  I liked working with children, but the babies I left to my sister.  Of course, when you are the mother, you get the baby too.

On 29 August 1988 I was the mother of the baby, and I discovered how wonderful babies are.  It was so much fun to see her learn to do things and to see her personality to develop.  We named her Caroline for my grandmother and JoAnn for my mother.  Later I thought about the meaning of her name – little song.  The name proved to be very appropriate for her.  Music has been an important part of her life from “All Things Bright and Beautiful”, which was the only song that helped her sleep as a baby, to her first song “Jesus Loves Me.”  She has even written songs.

Dear Caroline, on this special day I pray that these songs will encourage you.

He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God;
Many will see and fear
And will trust in the Lord.
Psalm 40:3

Your statutes are my songs
In the house of my pilgrimage.
O Lord, I remember Your name in the night,
And keep Your law.
Psalm 119:54-55

 Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God.
Colossians 3:16

This entry was posted in Encouraging Thoughts, Family, music, Serving God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

