O for Obedience

Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right.
Ephesians 6:1

When I was a child, I thought it wasn’t fair that children had to obey, and parents didn’t.  One thing I did see that parents had to obey were the traffic rules.  My father did talk about rules/laws that he had to obey and that people in general were supposed to obey.  I think that I didn’t see that as much to obey compared to “all” that I had to obey.

When I started reading my Bible more and reading both the Old and the New Testaments, I started to see what my father had been saying.  Obedience is important for everyone.

When you read the Bible, you should see that obedience brings great blessing and disobedience brings great sorrow.  I can see that obedience is important and that a person should obey right away, but it isn’t always easy to obey.  I also see that the great God who insists on obedience is always there to help anyone who chooses to obey.  He would love to help each one of us to obey Him, whether it is a small thing or a big thing.  I find great comfort and encouragement in that.

You shall follow the Lord your God and fear Him; and you shall keep His commandments, listen to His voice, serve Him, and cling to Him.
Deuteronomy 13:4

For the sons of Israel walked forty years in the wilderness, until all the nation, that is, the men of war who came out of Egypt, perished because they did not listen to the voice of the Lord, to whom the Lord had sworn that He would not let them see the land which the Lord had sworn to their fathers to give us, a land flowing with milk and honey.
Joshua 5:6

 Samuel said,
“Has the Lord as much delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices
As in obeying the voice of the Lord?
Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice,
And to heed than the fat of rams.”
I Samuel 15:22

Who is among you that fears the Lord,
That obeys the voice of His servant,
That walks in darkness and has no light?
Let him trust in the name of the Lord and rely on his God.
Isaiah 50:10

 Do you not know that when you present yourselves to someone as slaves for obedience, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin resulting in death, or of obedience resulting in righteousness?
But thanks be to God that though you were slaves of sin,
you became obedient from the heart to that form of teaching to which you were committed.

Romans 6:16-17

 Since you have in obedience to the truth purified your souls for a sincere love of the brethren, fervently love one another from the heart.
I Peter 1:22

This entry was posted in Alphabet posts, Christian living, Knowing God, Serving God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

