50 Verses – Part 1

Today is my 50th birthday. I have seen people use birthdays to give lists of information about themselves or things they like. I didn’t think it was necessary for people to know more about me. Since my purpose is to share encouraging words based on the most encouraging word the Bible, I decided to share 50 passages of Scripture that I often use. They will be listed in no particular order. They are verses that I often use for myself or for others, and they cover many different types of situations. I hope they will be an encouragement and help to you.  I will send the verses in 5 parts so the posts won’t be so long.  If you have favourite verses, please share them.

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.

 Psalm 16:11
You will make known to me the path of life;
In Your presence is fullness of joy;
In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.

 Psalm 18:29-30
For by You I can run upon a troop;
And by my God I can leap over a wall. . . .

As for God, His way is blameless;
The word of the Lord is tried;

 Romans 6:23
For the wages of sin is death,
but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Psalm 19:14
Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.

 I Samuel 15:22-23a
Samuel said,

Has the Lord as much delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices
As in obeying the voice of the Lord?
Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice,
And to heed than the fat of rams.
For rebellion is as the sin of divination,
And insubordination is as iniquity and idolatry.”

Philippians 4:8
Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.

 Numbers 32:23b
be sure your sin will find you out.

 Philippians 1:6
For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.

 Philippians 4:6-7
Be anxious for nothing,
but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving
let your requests be made known to God.
And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension,
will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

This entry was posted in Bible reading, Encouraging Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 Verses – Part 1

  1. Pingback: 50 Verses – Part 2 | Encouraging Words

Leave a Reply

