50 Verses – Part 2

As a celebration of my 50th birthday, I decided to share 50 passages of Scripture that I often use. They will be listed in no particular order. They are verses that I often use for myself or for others, and they cover many different types of situations. I hope they will be an encouragement and help to you.  Part 1 is here. If you have favourite verses, please share them.

Philippians 3:10
that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection
and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death;

 1 Corinthians 15:58
Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable,
always abounding in the work of the Lord,
knowing that your toil is not in vain in the Lord.

 2 Corinthians 4:17-18
For momentary, light affliction is producing for us
an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison,
while we look not at the things which are seen,
but at the things which are not seen;
for the things which are seen are temporal,
but the things which are not seen are eternal.

Isaiah 40:29 and 31
He gives strength to the weary,
And to him who lacks might He increases power.
Yet those who wait for the Lord
Will gain new strength;
They will mount up with wings like eagles,
They will run and not get tired,
They will walk and not become weary.

 Isaiah 40:11
Like a shepherd He will tend His flock,
In His arm He will gather the lambs
And carry them in His bosom;
He will gently lead the nursing ewes.

 Isaiah 41:10
Do not fear, for I am with you;
Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you, surely I will help you,
Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.

 Isaiah 44:24
Thus says the Lord, your Redeemer,
and the one who formed you from the womb,

I, the Lord, am the maker of all things,
Stretching out the heavens by Myself
And spreading out the earth all alone,”

 Job 40:6-9
Then the Lord answered Job out of the storm and said,

Now gird up your loins like a man;
I will ask you, and you instruct Me.
Will you really annul My judgment?
Will you condemn Me that you may be justified?
Or do you have an arm like God,
And can you thunder with a voice like His?”

 1 John 4:18
There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear,
because fear involves punishment,
and the one who fears is not perfected in love.

This entry was posted in Bible reading, Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

