How Did King Saul Die?

If you answered this question in the title as someone killed him, you might be right depending on who you said.

I read 2 Samuel 1 today which is an account of an Amalekite telling David that he killed King Saul.  I started to believe this report, but I wondered about it.  I was pretty sure that I had read about King Saul’s death, so I went back to the last chapter in 1 Samuel.  The story is different there.  King Saul was wounded and asked his armour bearer to kill him.  The armour bearer would not do it, so King Saul killed himself.  The armour bearer killed himself, so I am not sure how this account came to be written.  I am sure that this is the correct story.

What got my attention was how quickly I started to believe a story.  I checked this one out, so I got the truth.  The problem is that we rarely thoroughly check out the stories we hear.  It is harder than turning a few pages in the Bible.

The Amalekite probably told his story hoping to get in good with David. I don’t know about all stories, but I do know that many are started because the person wants to make someone else look bad and themselves look good.  This story in 2 Samuel 2 should give us reason to think twice about telling things about others.  David had this man killed.  Why?  The man did not kill King Saul.  But he had thought that killing King Saul was a good thing.  David said, “Your mouth testifies against you.”

Our mouths testify against us when we start or spread stories.  They testify that the love of Christ is not being demonstrated in us.  The love of Christ is kind and patient.  The love of Christ is forgiving.  The love of Christ rejoices in others’ blessings and is humble enough to not be jealous.  The love of Christ is the mark of a Christian, Jesus said; telling stories about others is not a mark of Christianity.

The problem is that there is a grain of truth in most stories.  What to do about the part that is true or seems to be true?  Pray.  It is better to tell God about it than to tell others.  Ask God to help their weaknesses.  Ask God to protect you from having the same difficulties.  Ask God to help you to view others better so we are not looking for faults in others.

Here are some thoughts from David himself to help us to not  spread stories.

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.
Psalm 19:14

Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth;
Keep watch over the door of my lips.
Psalm 141:3

How can a young man keep his way pure?
By keeping it according to Your word.
With all my heart I have sought You;
Do not let me wander from Your commandments.
Your word I have treasured in my heart,
That I may not sin against You.
Psalm 119:9-11

These verses might be a help if you are the subject of the stories being spread.
Even though princes sit and talk against me,
Your servant meditates on Your statutes.
Your testimonies also are my delight;
They are my counselors.
Psalm 119:23-24

May the Lord help us.

This entry was posted in Bible reading, Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts, Serving God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

