Spring

One of the fun things about living in Carriacou is spring.  Spring primarily comes in June when rainy season starts.  After weeks of months of no rain, the ground will turn green and flowers will burst open when the rain comes.  September was a dry month, even though it is officially rainy season.  October has been quite rainy.  The plants are bright green.  The lilies, which are my personal signs of spring, are blooming over the hillside.  The birds are mating and building nests.  The male birds have sung their lovely courting songs.

This phenomena of a little spring reminded me of the Christian life.  There are times that seem dry spiritually.  You don’t seem to understand what you read in the Bible and don’t respond to spiritual things.  Usually the cause is sin.  Sin is very stifling.  What a difference confession of sin and repentance makes in your life.  It is like spring.

Sometimes the dry times come as a result of tests God sends.  Our spring will come when we learn the lesson of faith God had for us.  Our understanding of God will be clearer.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from Your presence
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of Your salvation
And sustain me with a willing spirit.
Then I will teach transgressors Your ways,
And sinners will be converted to You.
Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, the God of my salvation;
Then my tongue will joyfully sing of Your righteousness.
O Lord, open my lips,
That my mouth may declare Your praise.
Psalm 51:10-15

For they disciplined us for a short time as seemed best to them, but He disciplines us for our good,
so that we may share His holiness.
All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful,
but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.
Hebrews 12:10-11

This entry was posted in Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts, Knowing God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

