Thanksgiving Day

Today is Thanksgiving Day in Grenada.  I thought I would share a few things that I am thankful for.  To start with, I am thankful for the day itself.  Although twenty-nine years ago it was a day of tragedy, it was also an event that restored freedom of worship.  As a result we were, eventually, able to come here as missionaries.

I am thankful that we live on the little island of Carriacou.  It is lovely and the people are friendly.  It is a very special place to raise children.

I am thankful for the man I married.  I admired his love for God when I married him.  I love and respect his spiritual qualities even more now.

I am thankful for the 10 children God gave me.  I didn’t think I would have so many, but I can’t imagine life without any of them.  The house seems so empty now that 3 of them are in the USA.  I will share one thing out of the many that I am thankful about each child.

Caroline – a first child is a special blessing.  I am thankful for the companion she has been.

Mary – the history course she developed for me this year is a blessing.

Anna – I am thankful for her music, which we miss now that she is away.

Katrina – She brought a special quality of life to our family, and she is the current pizza maker.

Angelia – I am thankful for her taking over the baking and decorating birthday cakes.

Peter – He has added agriculture to our family in gardening and animal husbandry.

Micayla – I am thankful that she enjoys playing with Suzanne and that she likes to sew.

Isaiah – He is our biscuit maker and aspires to do more.

Joseph – I am thankful for his artistic, clever mind.

Suzanne – I am thankful that God gave her to us.  It is fun to be 50 with a 7 year old daughter.

I will end with a note of thanks to my parents for the Christian heritage they gave to us children.  I am grateful that they thought it was important for us to learn about God at home, in school and church.

Oh give thanks to the Lord, call upon His name;
Make known His deeds among the peoples.
Psalm 105:1

I will give thanks to You, O Lord my God, with all my heart,
And will glorify Your name forever.
Psalm 86:12

Let them give thanks to the Lord for His lovingkindness,
And for His wonders to the sons of men!
Psalm 107:15

This entry was posted in Encouraging Thoughts, praise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

