P for Peace

I do plan to finish the alphabet posts; I have just had other ideas for posts as well. I will consider letter P today.

‘Peace, peace,’
But there is no peace.
Jeremiah 6:14b

We hear about peace, but we see very little.  The reason for this is because the only way to have peace is through God.  The following verses I call my sleep verses.  I looked them up years ago when I was having trouble sleeping.  I am highlighting the Lord, because He is the reason a person can have peace enough to sleep.  Being able to sleep is just one sign of peace, but it is an important one.

In peace I will both lie down and sleep,
For You alone, O Lord, make me to dwell in safety.
Psalm 4:8

The Lord is your keeper;
The Lord is your shade on your right hand.
The sun will not smite you by day,
Nor the moon by night.
The Lord will protect you from all evil;
He will keep your soul.
The Lord will guard your going out and your coming in
From this time forth and forever.
Psalm 121:5-8

When you lie down, you will not be afraid;
When you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.
Do not be afraid of sudden fear
Nor of the onslaught of the wicked when it comes;
For the Lord will be your confidence
And will keep your foot from being caught.
Proverbs 3:24-26

Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him;
Do not fret because of him who prospers in his way,
Psalm 37:7

I have set the Lord continually before me;
Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.
Therefore my heart is glad and my glory rejoices;
My flesh also will dwell securely.
Psalm 16:8-9

In closing let me mention some things that indicate that we are not at peace with God.  Fear, frustration, anger, confusion, irritability, resentment are some of the emotions that can be our clues that we are not truly at peace with God.  When we recognize any of these in our lives, we should quickly ask God to forgive us for having the wrong emotion and to show us where we are wrong.  Be quick to agree with God and to chose to do things His way.  He may use His Word, or He may chose to use a person’s voice, often one we consider irritating, to guide us to what is right.  Remember:  He is ALWAYS right, and you are usually wrong.  Following God’s way WILL bring peace.

This entry was posted in Alphabet posts, Christian living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

