Helplessness

Have you ever been frustrated that all the things you have tried didn’t solve the problem?  Have you ever thought, “Well, I guess there is nothing left to do but pray”?  I said something like that recently, and as soon as the words were out of my mouth, I knew I had things mixed up.  I was feeling so helpless.  Nothing seemed to be working, but prayer should not have been my last resort.  It should have been the first step.

If I believe that God is all-wise, and I do.  If I believe that God is all-powerful, and I do.  Then I should go to Him first and ask for help right away.

The trouble, I think, is that we believe that the idea or action needs to come from ourselves.  We are not doing anything if we are just praying.  In actuality we are doing the best thing ever.  We are going to the person who knows the best way to handle each situation.  We just need to be willing to let Him do it in His way, the best way.  We need to be willing to let Him use us or not use us as He sees fit.  If you have confidence in God, then the helplessness will cease; and the joy of watching for His solution will begin.

Here are some verses that can help you to depend on God.

Proverbs 3:5-7
So you will find favor and good repute
In the sight of God and man.
Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.
Do not be wise in your own eyes;
Fear the Lord and turn away from evil.

Matthew 6:33
But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness,
and all these things will be added to you.

Psalm 32:8
I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go;
I will counsel you with My eye upon you.

Psalm 116:1-2 and 5
I love the Lord, because He hears
My voice and my supplications.
Because He has inclined His ear to me,
Therefore I shall call upon Him as long as I live.
Gracious is the Lord, and righteous;
Yes, our God is compassionate.

1 John 5:14-15
This is the confidence which we have before Him, that,
if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.
And if we know that He hears us in whatever we ask,
we know that we have the requests which we have asked from Him.

1 Peter 1:6-8
 In this you greatly rejoice, even though now for a little while,
if necessary, you have been distressed by various trials,
so that the proof of your faith,
being more precious than gold which is perishable,
even though tested by fire, may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ;
and though you have not seen Him, you love Him,
and though you do not see Him now, but believe in Him,
you greatly rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory

This entry was posted in Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts, Knowing God, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

