Just for the Delight of It

I recently watched a 60 Minute Overtime piece on Dame Maggie Smith.  She is part of the currently successful Downton Abbey, and she has never watched it on TV.  The interviewer was amazed that she hadn’t and asked her what she got out of it if she didn’t watch the final product.  Her response was she did it for the delight of acting.

That is so beautiful.  She didn’t worry about the whole script or how it all got put together. She didn’t worry about the other actors.   She did it for the delight of doing her part and doing it well.

That got me thinking about the beauty of doing things just for the delight of serving God.  How wonderful to go through the day doing what I am supposed to do and just focus on doing it for the Lord.  Not being concerned about other people and how they affect or don’t affect my life.  Not wondering how my piece fits into the whole of God’s plan.  Not allowing pressures to turn my attention.  Not letting discouragement about what I can’t do or getting depressed about what I have to do.  Spending each day doing what I am to do just for the delight of serving the great and wonderful God!

What a difference our lives would take if that was our focus!

But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
Psalm 1:2

Delight yourself in the Lord;
And He will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him, and He will do it.
Psalm 37:4-5

I delight to do Your will, O my God;
Your Law is within my heart.
Psalm 40:8

Make me walk in the path of Your commandments,
For I delight in it.
Psalm 119:35

Your words were found and I ate them,
And Your words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart;
For I have been called by Your name,
O Lord God of hosts.
Jeremiah 15:16

 

This entry was posted in Encouraging Thoughts, Serving God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just for the Delight of It

  1. Lynette says:

    My prayer is that this would be the desire of all our hearts. And to think that we have the best Teacher, the Lord Himself. He works in our lives because it gives Him pleasure… Thank you for such a wonderful reminder.

  2. Jules says:

    It’s so easy for me to get depressed about what I have to do, rather than “spending each day doing what I am to do just for the delight of serving the great and wonderful God!” What a lovely post. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

