Things to Watch in My Life

So this I say, and affirm together with the Lord,
that you walk no longer just as the Gentiles also walk,
in the futility of their mind,
being darkened in their understanding,
excluded from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them,
because of the hardness of their heart;

and they, having become callous, have given themselves over to sensuality for the practice of every kind of impurity with greediness.
But you did not learn Christ in this way

Ephesians 4:17-20

These verses indicate that there are some things that should not be true of my life, since I have trusted Jesus as Saviour.  There are some things that I need to watch for in my life.

  • The company I keep in real life and virtual, so that I am not regularly listening to talk that leaves God out.
  • The times that God’s Word seems empty and nothing makes sense
  • Callousness towards others and their sin – not caring enough to pray or help, if I can
  • Increasing interest in myself – what I want and how I feel

These are indications that I am turning from God’s way.  I need to ask for forgiveness and change my ways.

that you be renewed in the spirit of your mind,
and put on the new self,
which in the likeness of God
has been created in righteousness and holiness of the truth.
Ephesians 4:23-24

This entry was posted in Christian living, Encouraging Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

