Attributes of God Alone – Part 2

God is omnipresent which means that He is everywhere. His omnipresence in the world supports His statement that “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5). David gave us a picture of this omnipresence in Psalm 139:7-12.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,
And the light around me will be night,”
Even the darkness is not dark to You,
And the night is as bright as the day.

Darkness and light are alike to You.

God is the sovereign ruler of all. There is none greater than He. All other rulers are subordinate to Him.

that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory,
may give to you a spirit of wisdom
and of revelation in the knowledge of Him.

I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened,
so that you will know what is the hope of His calling,
what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints,
and what is the surpassing greatness of His power toward us who believe.
These are in accordance with the working of the strength of His might
which He brought about in Christ,
when He raised Him from the dead

and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places,
far above all rule and authority and power and dominion,
and every name that is named,

not only in this age but also in the one to come.
And He put all things in subjection under His feet,
and gave Him as head over all things to the church,
which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all.
Ephesians 1:17-23

God, who is everywhere and who is the Supreme Ruler, is also omniscient. He knows all actual and all possible things. We sang a chorus in school that reminded us of this attribute of God.

He sees all you do.
He hears all you say.
My God is with me all the time, time, time.
He sees all you do.
He hears all you say.
My God is with me all the time.

Omniscience can give comfort – He is knows you. Omniscience should also give us warning – He really sees all that you do and hears all you say. He also knows what goes on in our minds. He is not trying to be manipulative or controlling in the manner that humans would try to use this attribute. He is omniscient so He can make Himself real to us and to lead us lovingly to do right.

God is greater than our heart and knows all things.
1 John 3:20b
who works all things after the counsel of His will
Ephesians 1:11b

God is omnipotent which means that He has all power.

Then I heard something like the voice of a great multitude
and like the sound of many waters
and like the sound of mighty peals of thunder, saying,

“Hallelujah! For the Lord our God, the Almighty, reigns.
Revelation 19:6

What better demonstration can there be of God’s omnipotence and sovereignty that the resurrection of Jesus?  What blessedness is ours if we put our trust in the omnipresent, sovereign, omniscient, omnipotent God.

Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible,
the only God,
be honor and glory forever and ever.
Amen.
1 Timothy 1:17

This entry was posted in doctrine, Knowing God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

