Names of God – Part 2

The names of God can be an encouragement to us.  They remind us of who He is and what He can do for us.  In Hebrew, the names are either combined with El, which means one, or with Jehovah, the God Who Is.

El-Elyon – the Most High
He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
My God, in whom I trust!”
Psalm 91:1-2

El Roi – the Strong One who Sees
 Then she called the name of the Lord who spoke to her,
“You are a God who sees”;
for she said, “Have I even remained alive here after seeing Him?”

Genesis 16:13

El Shaddai – Almighty God
Now when Abram was ninety-nine years old,
the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him,
“I am God Almighty;

Walk before Me, and be blameless.
“I will establish My covenant between Me and you,
And I will multiply you exceedingly.”
Genesis 17:1-2

El Olam – Everlasting God
Do you not know? Have you not heard?
The Everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth
Does not become weary or tired.
His understanding is inscrutable.
Isaiah 40:28

Jehovah Jireh – the Lord will provide
Then Abraham raised his eyes and looked,
and behold, behind him a ram caught in the thicket by his horns;
and Abraham went and took the ram
and offered him up for a burnt offering in the place of his son.
Ab
raham called the name of that place The Lord Will Provide,
as it is said to this day, “In the mount of the Lord it will be provided.”
Genesis 22:13-14

Jehovah Shalom – the Lord is Peace
When Gideon saw that he was the angel of the Lord,
he said, “Alas, O Lord God!
For now I have seen the angel of the Lord face to face.”
The Lord said to him, “Peace to you, do not fear; you shall not die.”
Then Gideon built an altar there to the Lord
and named it The Lord is Peace.
Judges 6:22-24a

Jehovah Sabbaoth – the Lord of hosts
Who is this King of glory?
The Lord of hosts,
He is the King of glory.
Psalm 24:10

Jehovah Maccaddeshcem – the Lord who sanctifies
You shall keep My statutes and practice them;
I am the Lord who sanctifies you.
Leviticus 20:8

Jehovah Raai – the Lord is my Shepherd
The Lord is my shepherd,
I shall not want.
Psalm 23:1

Jehovah El Gmolah – the Lord God of recompense
Therefore the Lord has recompensed me according to my righteousness,
According to my cleanness before His eyes.
With the kind You show Yourself kind,
With the blameless You show Yourself blameless;
With the pure You show Yourself pure,
And with the perverted You show Yourself astute.
And You save an afflicted people;
But Your eyes are on the haughty whom You abase.
2 Samuel 22:25-28

Jehovah Tsidkenu – the Lord our Righteousness
In His days Judah will be saved,
And Israel will dwell securely;
And this is His name by which He will be called,
‘The Lord our righteousness.’
Jeremiah 23:6

Jehovah Shammah – the Lord is present
the name of the city from that day shall be, ‘The Lord is there.’
Ezekiel 48:35

I pray that these names of God help you to understand Him a little better.  As you read your Bible, you will get to know God better, and these names will have more meaning.

This entry was posted in doctrine, Knowing God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

