Dragons and Dragonslayers

I have been reading adolescent books this summer.  My children brought home the Arby Jenkins set which are written by Sharon Hambrick.  I read Arby Jenkins, Ready to Roll a few days ago, and these words spoken by Mr. Hogan the science teacher stuck with me.

“‘There is a dragon abroad in the land.  I am stalking it.  I am going to lay it waste.  I am going to take it by the tail and hurl it into the year 3000.  . . .

“‘The dragon who will never enter my domain because it cringes in my sight and cowers before me is the dragon who whispers in the ear of incoming seventh graders. . . .

“‘Ladies and gentlemen, . . . hear me and hear me well.  I am going to tell you something that will stand you in good stead.  Learn it here, and your days will be long and happy.  Listen to me. ‘

“His voice dropped to a hoarse whisper, and I leaned forward in my seat.

“The dragon lies.'”    (pages 22-24)

Mr. Watson, Arby’s neighbour, told Arby about some other dragons that people face.  Mr. Watson calls Arby by his proper name which is Rutherford.

“‘Mr. Watson, aren’t dragons just make-believe?’

“‘Some are.  Some aren’t.’ . . .

“‘Which ones are real?’ I asked.

“‘The one your teacher mentioned is real. And some others.  They’ve got names:  Fear.  Peer Pressure.  Worry.  Met any of them, Rutherford?’

“‘Yes, sir,’ I said.  I saw his point.  ‘They hang around.”

“‘Got any weapons to fight them?’ he asked.

“‘I need weapons?’

“‘Yes, you need weapons.’ he said slowly.  ‘When you fight dragons, you get scars.  So weapons like determination and faith in the Lord would be good to keep as standard equipment.’ . . .

“‘Dragons leave scars. . . . But it’s worth it.  The scars are the medals of the dragonslayer.'”

I like children’s books because they often are able to express deep truths in clear ways.  So I have been thinking about dragons and ways to slay them the past few days.

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might.
Put on the full armor of God,
so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. . . .

 Therefore, take up the full armor of God,
so that you will be able to resist in the evil day,
and having done everything, to stand firm.

Stand firm therefore, . . .
With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit,
and with this in view, be on the alert
with all perseverance and petition for all the saints

Ephesians 6:10-11, 13-14a, 18

Wednesday with Words

This entry was posted in Christian living, Quotations, Wednesday with Words and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dragons and Dragonslayers

Leave a Reply

