Verses for Week 11

Now before the Feast of the Passover,
Jesus knowing that His hour had come
that He would depart out of this world to the Father,
having loved His own who were in the world,
He loved them to the end.
John 13:1

Knowing that soon He would die, Jesus loved His disciples.  When I read this verse, I wondered how I would respond if I knew I had only a little time left before I would die.  I remember that the last thing my mother told me before she died was that she loved me.  In the weeks before my father-in-law died, he wrote people letters and made sure that we here knew that he loved us.  I think that shows the quality of person that they were.

But what about me?  It is so easy to say that you love someone, and then get upset with them over little things.  What seems to stop our love?  A lazy child?  Not getting supper on time?  A wrong answer?  Such little things in the space of eternity cause us to think wrongly about another person.

Of course, if our love stops, then it was not really love.  True love lasts and does not stop.  It may weather some storms, but it will be standing afterwards.  This love is found in 1 Corinthians 13.  This love is also commanded by God.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another,
even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.
By this all men will know that you are My disciples,
if you have love for one another.
John 13:34-35

It is a love worth giving.  I think it will take a lifetime to perfect it, but it is worth the work.

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

