Verses for Weeks 14 and 15

Week 14

The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
Lamentations 3:22-23

I think one reason why God’s mercies are new every day is because of the way He forgives.

I, even I, am the one who wipes out your transgressions
for My own sake,

And I will not remember your sins.
Isaiah 43:25

He will forgive if we come to Him for forgiveness and are repentant.  He will forget them as well.  The guilt that comes concerning past sins – one that have been brought to the Lord – is not of God.  Sin that has not been confessed to God will be brought to our minds so that we can bring it to God to be forgiven.

If God who has been truly sinned against when I sin can forgive and forget, how much more should I forgive and forget!  Whatever sins have been done against me are nothing compared to what has been done against God.  I have sinned myself so what happens against me is often a result of my own sin.  I need to learn to forget the grievance against me and be able to look at people not harbour resentment or hurt.  This attitude will bring  will help usso we too might walk in newness of life.” (Romans 6:4b)

Week 15

You shall be holy, for I the Lord your God am holy.
Leviticus 19:2b

The reason to live a holy life is seen in a statement that is repeated throughout Leviticus – I am the Lord your God. We should not want to do anything wrong because that will mar our relationship with God.  We should want to be careful because even little things can be very damaging to our relationship with God.

How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked,
Nor stand in the path of sinners,
Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
Psalm 1:1-2

Reading and studying God’s Word will help us to not sin.

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

