Verses for Weeks 20-21

Week 20

In Numbers 20 we read that Moses did what he usually did which was to go to God for help and advice.  I have admired this habitual act that Moses did which must have contributed to his very close relationship with God.  It would be so wonderful to be able to have the same kind of relationship with God.

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Matthew 5:3

Week 21

A battered reed He will not break off,
And a smoldering wick He will not put out,
Until He leads justice to victory.
Matthew 12:20

In this verse the He is Jesus.  I have found this verse helpful in two ways.  The first is in reference to myself.  The verse gives us a picture of Jesus being so gentle that He is careful not damage a bent reed and not to put out the smallest flame.  I have been bruised of spirit and discouraged.  I am very grateful that the Jesus will work with me tenderly to encourage me to go on for Him.  He will be careful to find ways to strengthen and to protect me.  If I am feeling discouraged, I can remember that that feeling is not of God.

The second way I have been helped by this verse is as a leader.  It is easy when you are in charge to go on with little regard for those you are over.  Yet if I want to be truly Christ-like, I should be gentle and caring.  I should do what I can to encourage them and to find ways to build them up and not batter them down.

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge, Christian living, Serving God, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

