Verses for Weeks 25 – 26

After a long silence I will renew my 52 week challenge.  I chose a verse for each week, even though I did not write any posts.

Week 25

And He spoke many things to them in parables, saying, “Behold, the sower went out to sow; and as he sowed, some seeds fell beside the road, and the birds came and ate them up.   Others fell on the rocky places, where they did not have much soil; and immediately they sprang up, because they had no depth of soil.  But when the sun had risen, they were scorched; and because they had no root, they withered away.  Others fell among the thorns, and the thorns came up and choked them out.   And others fell on the good soil and yielded a crop, some a hundredfold, some sixty, and some thirty.  He who has ears, let him hear.
Matthew 13:3-9

This parable is one that makes me think about many things in the Christian life.  I have been reminded not to let “thorns” come in my life so that I am not full of anxiety.  I have been encouraged that fruit is possible.  This time when I read the passage, I wondered if this is a story of how it has to be or is it possible that the seeds could be protected from “the birds” and “the plants” moved to better soil.

Part of the answer is found in verse 9:  Who hath ears to hear, let him hear.  Prayer is also key to helping others to come to Christ.  By bringing the needs of others to the Lord, I can have confidence that the Lord is able to protect people and to help them grow spiritually.

the prayer offered in faith will restore the one who is sick,
and the Lord will raise him up,
and if he has committed sins, they will be forgiven him.
Therefore, confess your sins to one another,
and pray for one another so that you may be healed.
The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.
James 5:15-16

Week 26

Those who are sickly you have not strengthened,
the diseased you have not healed,
the broken you have not bound up,
the scattered you have not brought back,
nor have you sought for the lost;
but with force and with severity you have dominated them.
Ezekiel 34:4

Therefore, strengthen the hands that are weak and the knees that are feeble,
 
and make straight paths for your feet,
so that the limb which is lame may not be put out of joint,
but rather be healed.

Hebrews 12:12-13

I read the verse in Ezekiel first.  It is a condemnation to the leaders who had not cared for their people. After reading this verse I thought about my students.  Was I a helping them or hurting them?  I decided that I need to strengthen the sick, heal the diseased, bind up the broken, bring back the scattered, and search for the lost with love and gentleness.

A few days later I read Hebrews 12.  The verses were a beautiful confirmation of my thought from Ezekiel.  My goal should be to strengthen, guide and heal.

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge, Christian living, Serving God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

